top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Wong

A Natural Remedy to Battle with Flu

A simple onion soup keeps me away from doctor and refill my energy


Lately I have read a Facebook post titled, ‘Onion vs Flu’. My attention got sucked when seeing a simple recipe who got over 2000 comments and over 100K "Likes". I was just wondering if I had caught a flu yet I got no running rose and was neither too tired. The only syndromes with me were just dry throat and feeling slightly heavy head. If such a simple dish can help me ease those discomfort, why not give it a go? Also, I always love onion and hate taking medicine. This would be the best remedy for me.


Ingredients

1 Onion

Method

1) Peel the onions. Rinse and cut the onion into six wedges.

2) Put the chopped onion in a bowl and place it in a pot. Fill the pot with water until reaching the bottom of the bowl. Do Not add any water into the bowl,

3) Bring water to boil over high heat, then turn to low heat and cook for 20 minutes.

4) Take the bowl out. Remove the onion and drink the tiny bit of juice left in the bowl.


Initially I thought the juice would be spicy and with strong smell of onion. But it is as sweet as honey and I cannot tell it's from onion. Now I understand why this remedy is endorsed by so many moms because kids would love its sweet taste and they would not throw a fit like they are taking cough syrup.


An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Good health everyone and great year 2010!

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page